LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

LiftMaster 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener

Get optimal performance no matter what climate you live in. Our 3240 1/2 HP screw drive opener is specially engineered to run smoothly and quietly in even the coldest and hottest temperatures.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 6(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:November 19, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
expensive problems
Date:November 19, 2012
Cons: poor quality
Review: 
A local garage door service company installed a Liftamaster 3240 opener less than 2 years ago. it required replacement of the rail system less than 3 months later. Charged a warranty fee for changing rail. Required service call less than 1 year after installation for realignment of the safety eyes. 20 months after installation required replacement of the "inner trolley" a hard plastic piece about 6 inches long that the company quoted a price of $145. After a strong complaint, they waived the price of the part, but charged me for labor ($125). So far, this opener has cost me $873; totally unacceptable. Next time I go back to Sears whose opener lasted more than 15 years.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kdoyon
Date:September 29, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Great product, great price
Date:September 29, 2011
Review: 
So much more quiet than my old one, I wish I would have changed before.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
Location: Pasadena, CA
Date:July 24, 2011
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Latest technology
Date:July 24, 2011
Pros: no lubrication of rail needed.
Review: 
Great garage opener with all the latest safety features. Quiet. Smooth. Best of all the product description states that no lubrication of the screw rail is needed. In the past it has been a greasy mess to apply grease to the screw rail.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SanDiego
Location: San Diego, CA
Date:March 26, 2011
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Average opener missing option
Date:March 26, 2011
Pros: smooth operation, quiet, 2 large lights to illuminate the area
Cons: no light sensor, no directions for car mirror function
Review: 
A new garage opener 3240 was installed by a repair technician yesterday. The garage door opens just fine but what I fine is missing is the auto sensor for lighting the garage. My previous craftsman opener would turn the lights on when I entered the garage, no pushing of button or passing a sensor for the garage to be illuminated. This model appears to only illuminate should something cross the sensor's paths. Now that might be great if someone is always walking through the garage door entry which requires the door to be raises anyway but if entering from a house entry the garage is dark until the car is reached, by opening the door. This is a big negative and one which I'm trying to figure out a way-around.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By MarketingApril 25, 2011
What you're looking for is a Motion-Detecting Control Panel (or Smart Control Panel), which works just as you mention. Either product (398LM or 98LM) is compatible with your new opener and is available online or through your installing dealer.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marissa
Location: Central Texas
Date:December 27, 2010
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Quiet Opener
Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: quiet
Cons: doesn't work every time range over 30ft
Review: 
I have an apartment above my garage. If I'm paying attention I hear it go up but sleep right through it.
Only thing negative I have to say is the range of one of my remotes (30 feet from opener) doesn't always want to work. To overcome this we open up the one door then push the button on the 2nd door and it opens just fine.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Screw Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jason
Location: Tucson, Az
Date:December 16, 2010
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Best Purchase Ever
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: screw drive no springs to break, 1/2 hp has the power, professional installation, trouble free operation
Review: 
Being an electrician and having my house built it included 2 Lift Master, 1/2 HP model 3240 screw drive garage door openers with the remote key pad. Having owned Lift Master Garage door openers in my previous 3 homes, I was very glad to see the builder install this quality brand. The 1/2 HP and screw drive, is the best. No springs to break suddenly and mess up things in the garage like my cars. The installers are the best, because they don't leave the job until they are satisfied. As a matter of fact, the garage door installation was the only thing the builder did not have to come back to repair or adjust later on.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.