LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

LiftMaster 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener

Get rugged, reliable performance – and great value – with our 3255 1/2 HP chain drive opener. Its industrial-strength chain drive provides smooth, steady performance year after year.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 13(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Samdog
Date:February 20, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
One remote control
Date:February 20, 2014
Cons: remote
Review: 
This unit works great. Will not buy another one because of only one remote control. I have four garage doors that have Craftsman openers with two controls each. This way kids and grand kids can have one without having to pay $35. My old opener had two controls with 3 buttons.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooker
Date:August 8, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Replacement opener
Date:August 8, 2013
Review: 
I had a Stanley opener that was over 15 years old. Very pleased with the installation, but extremely disappointed that the unit only came with one opener for a two car garage.
The Stanley came with two openers, so I stupidly assumed there would be two
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bran
Date:April 9, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Lucky's problem
Date:April 9, 2013
Review: 
I've had an older, similar LiftMaster opener and had the same problem as Lucky. My garage faces the South and the door worked perfectly until late afternoon on hot days. I was able to fix the issue by realigning the photocells during the heat. It turns out that the eyes were barely aligned and as the metal expanded they were shifting out of alignment. It happened frequently when it was hot, and it hasn't happened since this fix.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lucky
Location: tx
Date:March 8, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
bright sunlight
Date:March 8, 2013
Review: 
just purchased a new home... the garage faces east. when you open the garage door in the morning if the sun is shining, you can't close it til around noon time...haven't been able to figure out how to correct this problem
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
debinky
Location: owensboro,ky 42303
Date:January 19, 2013
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
debinky
Date:January 19, 2013
Cons: more than 10' remotes wont raise garage door, hit and miss with remotes raising garage door
Review: 
Just had this installed new yesterday by professional garage door opener company.The remotes do not activate the door unless you are standing 10 feet in front of the garage door its self, its a hit and miss. The remotes should work at a greater distance, we replaced a craftsman 1/2 hp that was 13+ years old only because of a gear wearing out in the motor. I could be 70-80 feet away and had no problems with the remotes rasing the garage door.Have the antenna wire hanging straight down and still having no luck.This one had good reviews, but I am extremely dissatisfied with it. I am calling the installers back Monday,this should work better. Called the 1-800 number onhold for over one hour customer service answered the phone.He had me do some trouble shooting and never got it to work any better, he did say it should work at the same distance as the old craftsman . Said he could send me a new circut board,I told him I dont't know how to put in a circut board. Paid $289 for opener and installation and can't use it like I want too.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By LiftMasterFebruary 22, 2013
Sorry to hear you're having problems with the range of your remotes. It sounds like it may be a radio interference issue from the surrounding environment. You can perform a simple power down test to see if it helps to resolve the problem. We hope this article will help: http://bit.ly/YrL0X5
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vincentownie
Location: Southampton, NJ
Date:November 28, 2012
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Solid Performer
Date:November 28, 2012
Review: 
Had this for over a year. Works well. I have noticed the same thing that another reviewer has -- in the winter, with the sun low in the sky, the sun hits the bottom sensor. This doesn't allow the remote control to close the door.
Also, the light stopped working. I'm in the process of trouble shooting that. The bottom of the socket looks like the plastic melted a little and interferes with the light bulb bottom contact. I tried cleaning it, but that didn't work. I'll try ordering the parts and let you know how that works out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blueshark
Location: Bellaire Ohio
Date:November 27, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
No more lifting
Date:November 27, 2012
Pros: brighter lights, safety electric-eye beams, auto reverse if object is hit, remote works from long distances, light comes on when movement is detected
Cons: can hear it operating upstairs
Review: 
I just had a new garage door opener installed several months ago. I have a home warranty program that I use to repair or replace appliances and other things in my house that are broken. It is a nationwide company and my old garage door opener of 40 years broke. Since it was so old, there was no place to find replacement parts, so my home warranty company chose to replace it. They replaced it with model 3255. So far it is working perfect and I have no major complaints. The only thing is that it is a little noisy upstairs when opening and closing the door. The reason I can say this is because I used to have a screw type garage door opener at my other house.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jeannie
Location: florida
Date:October 24, 2012
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
ok
Date:October 24, 2012
Review: 
I've never had another brand so I have nothing to campare this one to but I have had mine for almost 4 years and the roller broke on it and the light works only sometimes. overall after I replace the broken roller I am satisfied with being able to use my garage again.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byron
Location: Marysville, Wa.
Date:September 24, 2012
Age: 55-64
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Home owner
Date:September 24, 2012
Review: 
We had our home built in 1997. LiftMaster openers (2) were installed by our builder. They work TODAY just as good as they did when first installed! We are having new garage doors installed and the company doing the work said "we have one of the best openers on the market". THEY ARE GREAT!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
negaGutters
Location: Athens , GA
Date:September 24, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
a work hourse
Date:September 24, 2012
Pros: dependablity
Cons: a little noisey on up stairs bouns rooms
Review: 
ower compant has been installing liftmaster products for over 20 year .
This 3255 seriers is plain out a work hourse . if adjusted correctly the chain drive wil give you 20 + years of great service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snookee
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok
Date:February 26, 2012
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Very happy camper
Date:February 26, 2012
Review: 
I had this one installed by professional installers and has worked as expected, except for one large detail. When the
sun shines directly on the sensor, the
opener will not allow you to lower the door, as it goes down a short distance, then reverses and goes back up. You must hold in the pushbutton on the wall to get it to go down.
However the company is sending me a
sun sheild for the sensor, which will resolve the problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:December 18, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Superior Products, always
Date:December 18, 2010
Cons: none!
Review: 
Replaced two that lasted 25 years with no problems. New ones are even better! Superior in design and reliability. Couldn't be more pleased. Had them professionally installed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatieB
Location: Middlebury, VT
Date:September 29, 2010
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Best Garage Door Opener!
Date:September 29, 2010
Review: 
We bought a new garage door opener because our old one was nothing but trouble. We love our new opener! It does amazing things: a light turns on simply by walking through the open doorway, it has a push button to turn on the light overhead, it has a safety mechanism to prevent injury, and it has a lock for security (to use during vacations away, for example). The remotes are small and work from a good distance. We have had this for about 9 months now and we are very pleased with it. I would easily recommend it to others.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.