LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LiftMaster 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener

Smooth-running reliability is what our enhanced 3280 belt drive opener delivers – and it's quiet enough not to wake your guests in the bedroom above the garage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
24 out of 26(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeF
Date:June 15, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Bought used 4 years ago
Date:June 15, 2014
Pros: quiet
Review: 
Still works great, Have no problem with it. veery quiet and reliable, compatible with universal remotes and my alarm system.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NVDon
Location: Minden, NV
Date:June 12, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
A quality product!
Date:June 12, 2013
Pros: well built, quiet operation, reliable
Cons: needs to accept led or cfl lamps
Review: 
Have had this 3280 opener for eight years now and other than having to occasionally change the light bulbs, it just works day after day without any problems at all. It is also super quiet!
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
papaarmy
Location: Pennsylvania
Date:September 24, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
quiet & dependable
Date:September 24, 2012
Pros: ease of use, super quiet, very dependable
Review: 
My father had this model installed a few years ago and I am amazed at how quiet it is to operate.He was in his 80's when it was installed, but found it easy to operate and very dependable Noproblem with his remote.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bubba
Date:August 18, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+3points
14out of 25found this review helpful.
remote operators unreliable
Date:August 18, 2012
Review: 
The mechanism for opening the garage door works well and is very quiet. However, in three years, both of our remote controls have failed. Replacing these at thirty bucks a pop is a rather expensive "maintenance" task in the overall scheme of things. The Craftsman I had at my old house was noise and I had to adjust the chain every now and then but in twenty years the remotes never failed. Replacing remotes every three years makes this a very expensive unit to operate over time.
+3points
14out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfhjr
Location: BINGHAMTON, NY
Date:November 28, 2011
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
OUTSTANDING A+
Date:November 28, 2011
Pros: quiet smooth operation excellent lighting
Review: 
I AM 64 YRS+ AND HAVE OWNED NUMEROUS HOMES OVER THE YEARS.
SOME HAVE BEEN RENTAL PROPERTY.
I HAVE HAD DIFFERENT BRAND DOOR OPENERS AND INSTALLERS.
YOUR OPENER MODEL #3280 1/2 HP IS BY FAR THE BEST I HAVE OWNED. QUIET SMOOTH AND HIGH QUALITY.
AS FOR THE INSTALLER AMERICAN GARAGE DOOR COMPANY OF BINGHAMTON NY. THE MOST PROFESSION AND COURTEOUS YOUNG
GENTLEMAN. I GIVE OPENER AND INSTALLLER MY HIGHEST RATING, A+
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l369w
Location: California
Date:October 13, 2011
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Great Opener
Date:October 13, 2011
Pros: very quiet and smooth
Review: 
We have had the opener since 2005 and love it. It is 2011 and the light stopped working, this is the first problem we have ever had in 6 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harvey
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Date:June 30, 2011
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Wow ! what service
Date:June 30, 2011
Review: 
Like All electrinic products like &*(*&^&* Computers some times a problem developes
My New Opener was working OK but at times was acting a little strange like taking 3 or longer minutes before shutting when I backed the car out of the drive way. only on that occasion no matter which remote is activated.
After discussing this on line with a technicin he told me the lodgic board needs to be replaced and I could do it myself and WHALLA Over night UPS delivered the board to this house
Whow what tremendous SERVICE like I have never received from any company. For this reason alone I will recomend this company to every one !!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MLBFAN
Location: Michigan
Date:January 15, 2011
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
3280 Opener Best Purchase Ever!
Date:January 15, 2011
Review: 
When we had a tornado last year that blew over our house, it took my garage door with it. I called my repair guy and he suggested I only buy Chamberlain/Liftmaster. In a few days, repairs were completed and the new Liftmaster 3280M-267 1/2 hp opener was installed. Wow! This opener is one heck of a product with its powerful motor and all the different programming capabilities, not to mention the accessories to add. I'm now looking to purchase the Smart Control Panel (398LM) and some Remote Light Controls (395LM) for more security to turn indoor lights on from the car for my wife. These guys know how to give consumers quality at a fair price !
I highly reccomend Chamberlain/Liftmaster!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John
Location: Littleton, CO
Date:December 31, 2010
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent Product
Date:December 31, 2010
Review: 
This product is so much quieter than my old garage door opener. It has run perfectly and smoothly every time I've used it. Also, the company that installed the garage door opener, Garage Doors Incorporated, provided excellent installation and customer service. I highly recommend both this garage door opener and Garage Door Incorporated!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tigger
Location: WI
Date:December 30, 2010
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1/2 belt drive garage door opener
Date:December 30, 2010
Review: 
When our existing opener died, it was obvious that we would would replace it with a product we had used previously and liked. Our first was chain driven. This belt driven is even better.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ajimmyg3
Location: hanahan,sc
Date:December 29, 2010
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
flawless
Date:December 29, 2010
Review: 
this garage opener has been reliably flawless in the over a year that we've been using it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:December 20, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Reliable product
Date:December 20, 2010
Review: 
I usually judge products on their reliability. This opener ALWAYS works, and that's what important to me. The quietness is just a bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chezer
Date:December 19, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
New Construction
Date:December 19, 2010
Review: 
These are great operators !! I had two Liftmasters on my last house for 17 years with no issues. They performed flawlessly for all those years lifting heavy wooden doors and only 1/3hp units. Very quiet, minimal maintenance and never let me down. Good reliable product so I bought them again for my new home.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LiftMasterLover
Date:December 2, 2010
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
The best opener I have ever had
Date:December 2, 2010
Pros: very quiet, very reliable, made by liftmaster/chamberlain, there is no way that there are any cons with this
Review: 
I have seen many different openers and this is by far one of the top ones that I have seen its very quiet and extremely reliable. I have not had one single issue at all with it. By far you are going with the best opener brand if you choose LiftMaster.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TnVOLS
Location: Knoxville, TN
Date:November 3, 2010
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Squeaks
Date:November 3, 2010
Pros: ease of remote programming
Cons: belt squeaks, belt twists
Review: 
I had two of these units installed back in 2007 as part of a new home construction. After about two years of service, I noticed the belts started to squeak at the power head. The belt on the double door also twists half way around which I'm forever adjusting. There is no mention of any of this in the owners manual. Now, having said all that, these are more quiet than chain or screw drive models, but not as quiet as you might think for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Date:October 18, 2010
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Highly recommended
Date:October 18, 2010
Pros: quiet
Cons: none
Review: 
This was the best purchase my husband and I made in years! So quiet you hardly know the garage door is going up and down.
Would recommend this to everyone looking to purchase a well made product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Batoffm
Location: PA
Date:October 17, 2010
Age: 18-24
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
What a great unit!
Date:October 17, 2010
Pros: quiet, reliable, ease of access, keypad great for the kids!!!!
Cons: what could possibly be a con about this unit???
Review: 
Honestly... I deal with garage door openers more than you can imagine. And LiftMaster Professional is ALWAYS the choice I go with. Weather it's the base model 1355 chain drive, or the top of the line 3595 carriage house chain drive. The 3280 is perfect for my steal insulated garage doors. I purchased 3 of them from my dealer! This was back in 05, and I could not be happier. Even to this day, i can barley hear the motor go up and down, the only thing I can hear is the little squeaks and creaks that come from the door. Having the three button remote (373LM) is a great feature, because it allows me to have access to not one.. but all THREE of my garage doors from my car. I recommend this unit to everyone that's doing new construction, or even replacing there old opener. I upgraded from three Lift-Master 1260 Chain drives. They were the best of the best in the early 90's, but I think I found something better!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SDBNY
Location: New York
Date:October 11, 2010
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Extremely Happy
Date:October 11, 2010
Pros: quiet
Cons: none
Review: 
Purchased this product a little over a year ago and couldn't be happier. This unit replaced our original chain drive system made by another company. We went from loud (knowing someone was coming home no matter how loud the TV/Radio was) to not even hearing it! Great Unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FarmerEarl
Location: Sumter, SC
Date:October 4, 2010
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Great Decsion
Date:October 4, 2010
Pros: quiet and fast
Review: 
I had a new garage door and opener,installed by a professional, he recommended the Chamberlain 1/2hp belt drive model. I was planning on a screw drive and after reading about the belt drive which I change to. It is powerful and quiet. I like the safety features,and smooth operation. I would recommend this opener to anyone who wants a good quality product and a good value as well. I like the wireless wall remote very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mikeo
Location: St. Louis, MO
Date:October 1, 2010
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Very Satisfied
Date:October 1, 2010
Review: 
When we needed a new garage door opener we had a choice between getting the slightly more expensive belt drive or chain drive. Both my wife and I are so very glad we purchased the Belt Drive. The main reason is that it's quiet and provides a much smoother ride, opening and closing, for the garage door.
I have recommended this style of garage door opener to many of my friends. It is quite an excellent product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next»