LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LiftMaster.

LiftMaster 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener

Continual steady performance, dependability, and reliability is what you'll get with the LiftMaster® 1/3 HP chain drive opener.
Average Customer Rating:
2.444 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
4 out of 9(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Date:January 20, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Potential signal interference
Date:January 20, 2012
Review: 
@WickedRunR: I've had a Liftmaster opener for 18 years with virtually no problems. Have you recently purchased a new router, cordless phone, etc., or have any of your neighbors? It sounds like an interference problem to me. sometimes just moving the location of such a device will correct your problem. If that doesn't work you may have to determine how to shield the opener from such interference, or return the device for something in a different frequency band - most household gadgets use the same frequency band, but no one ever mentions that interference could be an issue when selling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DubayDog
Location: Mosinee,WI
Date:December 10, 2011
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
It quit
Date:December 10, 2011
Pros: simple
Cons: noisey
Review: 
After 14 years this model 1345 unit quit functioning, The motor turns, but the gear does not. Looks like something stripped out. I have always found it to be noisey and rough anyway, so time to get a new one. Are these things worth repairing?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NoNicknameJack
Location: California
Date:November 16, 2011
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Only lasted 16 years!
Date:November 16, 2011
Review: 
I know that this isn't the Mercedes Benz of the Lift Master line but it is the unit that came new on my now 16 year old home. It is what they put in track homes with lightweight aluminum garage doors... It outlived the stove, oven, garbage disposal and over-range microwave... I'm not crying.
The motor actually still works. The unit appears to have only broken a drive tooth.
Normally, when I replace something, I seriously upgrade. I'm probably going to replace this unit with the same exact thing and this is something I almost never do. I MAY upgrade to the 1/2 HP model but the only reason I will is if I find out that the drive gear parts of the 1/2 HP model are stronger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark
Location: Venice FL
Date:February 10, 2011
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
This is contractors model now 11 years old
Date:February 10, 2011
Pros: depdendable 11 years and still going, does what it supposed to do without failure, we have three kids; this opener gets a lot of work
Cons: low horsepower
Review: 
We purchased our home 11 years ago; the garage door opener is original; had two repairs but inexpensive to repair, overall the garage door opener has done what it should do; open/ close the door.
We too have door going up/down all of sudden; have found neighbor with same door changed battery and code; their door opener now randomly operated our door; looked on this website; says to hold program button for 6 seconds to clear codes then had to reprogram four vehicles plus external opener; so far it appears to be the cure.
Overall; would have like the elite opener or higher horsepower but I did not get choice; this opener has not caused us to consider to replace which if / when we do we will stay with Chamberline sine we have 11 years on this opener and still going with little maintenance.
I might add that I had garage door company do repairs since they have experience with the mechanics of the openers, etc.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WickedRunR
Date:January 23, 2011
Age: 25-34
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Why does it randomly open
Date:January 23, 2011
Review: 
I have had this garage door opener for two years now and for the past 6-months the garage will randomly open. When I come home from work, or in the middle of the night etc. How does this happen? Why is this happening just in the past 6-months? Can anyone help or has anyone had this problem?
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bumangues
Location: CA
Date:January 15, 2011
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Noisy and vivrates
Date:January 15, 2011
Review: 
This garage opener was already installed in my new house. It vibrates a lot, the whole floor on the room above the garage vibrates. My question for Liftmaster is the vibration suppose to happen?. Other than that it works fine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
oldinflorida
Location: florida
Date:December 12, 2010
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
poor product
Date:December 12, 2010
Review: 
The garage door opener was on the house when we brougth it new. we had it adjusted several times. The door would not go down NOW parts have fallen off (the gear) and the door is down are can not use it at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Johnny
Date:November 1, 2010
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Door won't close
Date:November 1, 2010
Review: 
Door opens fine but will not close. It starts to close but stays up and light flickers off/on. I can hold the wall door button constantly down and it will override and go down but I have to let the door reach the floor before I release the button. If I don't let the door reach the floor while constantly holding the button down the door will return back up. Opener was installed when I bought the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/3 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Freddy
Date:October 16, 2010
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Wondering Why
Date:October 16, 2010
Review: 
This was installed before we bought the property. It only works sometimes. It will open almost 100%. Will mostly 99% of the time close with the auto opener. Will close with the button on the wall of the garage if it just ticks you have to hold it in until it is closed all the way. We have had our handyman look at it. He has adjusted it four times. It will work fine two or three times then reverts back to not closing unless I hold down the garage wall button. What do I need to do to fix this???? Thank you for your help.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By Technical SupportOctober 19, 2010
It sounds as though your safety sensors are not properly aligned. This is a very easy fix and can be accomplished in minutes.

For more information, go to
http://www.liftmaster.com/consumerw... and click on "Why does my garage door reverse as it is closing?"