LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LiftMaster Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive

Get in your garage every time, even when the power is out. This revolutionary DC belt drive offers quiet operation and comes fully equipped with MyQ® enabled technology and the Timer-to-Close feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
37 out of 42(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Review 1 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jrmehl69
Date:July 14, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Not a full functional solution
Date:July 14, 2014
Pros: quiet
Cons: does not work with homelink, you can not control with your phone, no keypad entry included, only one remote
Review: 
Unless you are single and live all alone this is in no way a full solution. It only includes 1 remote, no keypad access, will not work with homelink out of the box, and you can not control with your phone out of the box either. It is quiet the day of the install, but the 8550 Elite Series is pretty worthless without additional parts.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glock1963
Date:June 24, 2014
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Great Opener
Date:June 24, 2014
Pros: quiet, reliable, my q is a plus, battery backup
Review: 
I've had this opener for about a year and have been pleased with it. It's very quiet and reliable. The battery backup I haven't needed yet but I did test it and it worked great. The MyQ wireless opener sold separately works well too. I had it professionally installed so I can't say how easy or hard it is to install but it only took about an hour for them to do it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLHR
Location: Monticello, Ga
Date:June 18, 2014
Age: 45-54
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Best Garage door motor ever
Date:June 18, 2014
Review: 
It was a great price and has great features. And is so quiet.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Georgetown
Date:April 18, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Really Like It
Date:April 18, 2014
Review: 
Just had the Liftmaster 8550 installed, replacing a 13 year old one that had a cracked gear. I really like how quiet the Liftmaster is and the technology that comes with it. I am especially pleased that they are sending me the Repeater Kit for free. I pay only the shipping of $7.00. My 2012 KIA Soul qualified for this. Thanks Liftmaster.
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anthony
Location: Granbury, TX
Date:April 17, 2014
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Best money I've spent on the garage...
Date:April 17, 2014
Pros: internet gateway, battery backup, very quiet
Review: 
I previously owned an Overhead Door opener and it was chain driven. It was very noisy when coming home at 4am from work and always woke the family up. My new Liftmaster 8550 is VERY quiet and the internet gateway is an awesome feature. LiftMaster definitely hit a home-run with this cool feature. I really like all of the capabilities of the 8550 and can't wait to use them! Huge kudos to "Fletcher" with Windsor Door for the install. He was very professional and informative about all of the new features. GREAT SERVICE!
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dickn52
Location: Ocala, FL
Date:September 10, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+10points
31out of 52found this review helpful.
What a difference
Date:September 10, 2013
Pros: so quiet
Review: 
I bought a house that had an older SEARS door opener. After only 14 years a spring finally broke. New springs, and decided to upgrade the opener from chain to a belt drive. The dogs are very PO'd right now as they can't hear the door open anymore. Works quiet, smooth and fairly fast, but the chain model was a bit faster. If we can get another 14 years out of this one, the next model will probably put together a dinner and have it waiting for you when you pull in.
+10points
31out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Blake
Location: Mountain West
Date:August 22, 2013
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-6points
44out of 94found this review helpful.
Car Remotes don't work with 8550
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: quiet
Cons: remote incompatability
Review: 
Bought this opener brand new today. I have no history on performance. However, I was immensely disappointed to learn the built-in remotes in my 2009 sedan and my 2010 pick-up don't work with this 2013 opener. I spent three hours trying to program the vehicles....no luck. I called my installer. He sent me to Customer Service who referred me to the car remote transmitter manufacturers Homelink and LearCar2U. I learned it is possible to make the car remotes work with repeater kits. Homelink said my car qualified for a free repeater as long as I paid $7 shipping. I gladly paid the shipping. Lear, on the other hand, wants $39.50 plus $10.50 s&h. I declined. I already spent enough on the new opener and installation.
I wished I had picked a less expensive model and found one compatible with my vehicles.
-6points
44out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garageman
Location: Kansas City, MO
Date:August 10, 2013
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Worth every penny!
Date:August 10, 2013
Pros: quiet, myq accessories, time to close feature, battery backup
Review: 
This is by far the quietest opener I've ever owned. I upgraded from a Genie screw drive and it is like night and day. This unit works every time like a champ. I love the battery backup feature and the fact that it shows your battery charge on the wall control. I also love the time to close feature. I've accidentally left my door up before, but no more! And finally the internet gateway is worth the money. Found one cheap online and now I love being able to control my door from anywhere! This unit was only $40 bucks more than the same belt drive without the MyQ features or battery backup. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra on this one. You won't be sorry.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rompy
Location: Chandler Arizona
Date:May 13, 2013
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-23points
8out of 39found this review helpful.
LiftMaster 8550 Review
Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: laser assist and internet gateway
Cons: app loses connectivity
Review: 
Product works great. It is very quiet. I have added two laser parking assist and use the Internet Gateway. The internet gateway does lose connectivity every now and then but manages to reconnect if I restart the app. It gives me the piece of mind to know that I can manage access to the house from the other side of the country.
-23points
8out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
robin
Location: Baltimore, MD
Date:February 12, 2013
Age: 45-54
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Does not work with any cars homelink
Date:February 12, 2013
Pros: the opener is quite
Cons: only one door opener, not compatible with any cars homelink
Review: 
The opener is quite but comes with only one door opener if you have two cars with most homes do you will have to purchase a second opener and if you think you are going to program your car, think again. This garage door opener is not compatible with any cars homelink system if the car is 2012 or older.
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By LiftMasterFebruary 22, 2013
The new version of our remote control radio code Security+ 2.0 increases radio range and virtually eliminates interference under most conditions. Some older vehicles may not communicate directly with the radio, and will require a "Repeater Kit" to upgrade the in-vehicle remote system to be compatible with this improved radio system. Here is more information on programming your garage door opener to Homelink: http://bit.ly/Wy4msZ
Review 11 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain
Location: Oklahoma
Date:February 7, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Great Garage Door Opener, But
Date:February 7, 2013
Pros: lots of features
Cons: homelink firmware
Review: 
This garage door opener is all you can ask for... Quiet operation, lots of great features, and a good warranty. The biggest problem is the HomeLink firmware is so new most cars prior to 2011 do not have the HomeLink compatible version. If you have this issue, contact HomeLink and they have a small repeater box to add to your garage door that will enable older auto HomeLink firmware to talk to the new model. The price is around $35.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Captain
Location: Oklahoma
Date:February 5, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
LiftMaster 8550
Date:February 5, 2013
Pros: good product
Cons: new homelink requires optional repeater <2011 cars
Review: 
Good product, quiet operation Good Warranty, Lot of features. One big drawback is the Homelink software is so new most model cars do not have a compatible Homelink. You most likely will require an optional repeater system to enable your car Homelink and the LiftMaster model 8550 to communicate. You can obtain this device for around $35 by calling 1-800-355-3515. This is the HomeLink Customer hot line.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
neds
Location: Forest Hill, MD.
Date:January 25, 2013
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Awesome!
Date:January 25, 2013
Pros: can hardly hear it working
Cons: won't work with my homelink
Review: 
Replaced our old garage door opener that was failing and loud (screw drive).
Kept putting it off but had to replace it.
Cannot say enough abot this opener, super quiet , sturdy and efficient.
Love the features like temp. display and ease of programming remotes.
One caveat ,only one, it is so advanced it won't work with most homelink systems in your car.
The auto makers need to update the homelink system!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxime
Location: Boca raton fl
Date:December 29, 2012
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Great product
Date:December 29, 2012
Pros: very quiet, has motion sensor to open the light, can use with my iphone
Cons: none
Review: 
This is a great product. Very reliable and you can use your iphone to know if your door is opened or you can even open it remotely with your iphone. The opener is very quiet, and was professionnally installed by broten garage door! Thank you liftmaster!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert
Location: New York, NY
Date:December 26, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Awesome!
Date:December 26, 2012
Review: 
Purchased the 8550 and hands down, this is the the best garage door opener ever for smooth operation, security, reliability and to consider I researched every possible darn opener for weeks, the MyQ technology and FREE internet (not like the others) was icing on the cake! (my 1 year old product would freeze and not close). Piece of mind was another factor and the cost for such, is worth it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dickd
Location: Warren, OH
Date:December 17, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Super quiet
Date:December 17, 2012
Pros: good value for the $$$
Review: 
Just had this door opener installed by my garage door repair company. Compared this model to Sears comparable one but decided to go with Liftmaster. The track is one piece which is a plus for heavy doors. This is absolutely the quietest door opener I have ever experienced. Very nice features. Too early to tell if the product will last but I'm guessing it will be a long time. Keep going out into the garage to cycle the opener just to hear how quiet it is. :)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vant
Location: Maine
Date:September 24, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Quiet
Date:September 24, 2012
Review: 
This product is used in an apartment space..love how quiet it is...no more getting woken up when landlord decides to come play with his*toys*
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sabresfan10
Location: Boston, NY
Date:September 24, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
So easy to set up and use!
Date:September 24, 2012
Review: 
We have two garages and both have this opener on them. We have one keypad that can operate both doors. It also came with remotes that can operate both doors as well. They were so easy to set up...and with battery back up those Buffalo winters will never keep us out in the cold!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nascar
Date:September 10, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
8550 Purchase
Date:September 10, 2012
Review: 
Just purchased two 8550's for a new Morton building we are building. These openers are very smooth and quiet. We really love the MyQ feature using our iPhones. Really works great...from anywhere. Eliminates the need for an opener...as long as I have my phone with me. My wife and I like the product so much we ordered three more 8550's to replace the 3 year old Chamberlain openers for our home garage. All 5 doors will be tied into the MyQ network so we can have access to all of them with our smartphones. We also like the motion sensors on the interior door openers that turn on or keep the opener lights lighted as long as we are present in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
littlebro
Location: Southern Maine
Date:August 31, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Quiet operation
Date:August 31, 2012
Pros: very quiet, self closing feature is great
Cons: difficulty with compatability to homelink
Review: 
Recently installed a pair for a customer who wanted the latest and quietest operator on today's market. They were not disappointed. Smooth quiet operation without a jerky start and stop. I was able to program the owner's Subaru Legacy to the Homelink but failed to do so with the Mercedes C class.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
123next»