LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LiftMaster Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive

Get in your garage every time, even when the power is out. This revolutionary DC belt drive offers quiet operation and comes fully equipped with MyQ® enabled technology and the Timer-to-Close feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
0
38 out of 44(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Review 21 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nascar
Date:September 10, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
8550 Purchase
Date:September 10, 2012
Review: 
Just purchased two 8550's for a new Morton building we are building. These openers are very smooth and quiet. We really love the MyQ feature using our iPhones. Really works great...from anywhere. Eliminates the need for an opener...as long as I have my phone with me. My wife and I like the product so much we ordered three more 8550's to replace the 3 year old Chamberlain openers for our home garage. All 5 doors will be tied into the MyQ network so we can have access to all of them with our smartphones. We also like the motion sensors on the interior door openers that turn on or keep the opener lights lighted as long as we are present in the garage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
littlebro
Location: Southern Maine
Date:August 31, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Quiet operation
Date:August 31, 2012
Pros: very quiet, self closing feature is great
Cons: difficulty with compatability to homelink
Review: 
Recently installed a pair for a customer who wanted the latest and quietest operator on today's market. They were not disappointed. Smooth quiet operation without a jerky start and stop. I was able to program the owner's Subaru Legacy to the Homelink but failed to do so with the Mercedes C class.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garagedoorman
Location: columbus ohio
Date:August 31, 2012
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
#1 in residential garage door openers
Date:August 31, 2012
Review: 
Hello this is clint with done right garage doors columbus oh this is one of the best openers so far! we still sell a lot of 3280 belts but this one takes the cake great job liftmaster
The only opener i install!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gsuburban
Location: Glendora, CA
Date:August 31, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Elite Belt Drive
Date:August 31, 2012
Pros: quiet, powerful, smart wall control
Cons: nothing
Review: 
Purchased two of these openers in 2010 which replaced 20 year old chain drive designs.
Well, what a big change. Quiet was the first feature. I was looking for a quiet motor/opener and read the DC motor is quieter than the AC design so, having the back up battery and the DC motor is hands down, an ultimate upgrade.
Both openers are used sever times daily and continue to perform as new. Well worth the research and finally getting the better product for doing the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bk000
Location: Dallas, TX
Date:August 21, 2012
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Doesn't work with any car's built-in homelink
Date:August 21, 2012
Pros: myq remote app works!, quiet
Cons: other liftmaster remotes not compatible with 8550, not compatible with homelink in 2009-2010 vehicles, problem with remote compatibility not disclosed
Review: 
This issue needs to spelled out in the marketing. I don't really want to buy and plug in a separate product (remote repeater) for something that should have been built into the unit. The 8550 is not compatible with the HomeLink built in remote my 2009 Cadillac CTSV, my 2010 BMW 335i, my 2005 Chevy Corvette, nor my 2012 Liftmaster Jackshaft model 3800 garage door opener remote. I really don't know what the deal is here that the same manufacturer issues two garage door opener products with two different remote control protocols. The opener works as advertised regarding the "MyQ" features. MyQ was extremely easy to set up but offset by frustrating homelink compatibility issues. Overall rating? Just Average - not worth the premium and not worth the upgrade for "MyQ".
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fheatl
Location: Snellville, Ga
Date:August 11, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Good purchase
Date:August 11, 2012
Pros: very quiet
Cons: installers not knowledgable about product, poor programming instructions for car remote
Review: 
Nice and quiet with neat features such as battery backup, wall mount control with digital display and web access (not activated yet). Contrary to feedback provided by other owners, device does work with built in car homelink. You must have repeater and need to contact Homelink for programming instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ARAT
Location: Ontario, Canada
Date:August 1, 2012
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Reliable!
Date:August 1, 2012
Pros: will work without power
Review: 
Love that it comes with the battery. Usually that sort of accessory is an option, with an upcharge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pauls
Date:July 27, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
perfect
Date:July 27, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Review: 
We have had two Liftmasters in our three bay garage for eight years. They have worked perfectly during that time.
I have been looking around for remote closers, because we tend to drive away, get ten minutes out, and wonder if we closed the doors???
This opener / closer has a feature that will close the door after a pre-determined amount of time. We set ours for five minutes.
In addition, it has a battery back-up, so if the power is out, you can still get in.
It also puts on lights when you enter the garage on foot.
And, it slows down when opening or closing, instead of the "bang" of the older models.
Finally, it is so quiet, it is unreal!!!
My teenage son set it up to work (MyQ) from the internet, so we can check from any place on earth as to whether or not the doors are open, or closed, and we can open them or close them by blackberry / Iphone.... Great if you want to let a neighbour, friend, police or fireman in, when you are 2000 km away!
The cost to buy and install them was so insignificant, I have no idea why anyone would DIY, or buy a cheap model and hire someone to install.
Leduc Overhead Doors Inc. is fantastic. Great service, reliable, installed in less than two days of order, and their installer is a great guy to talk to.. Their owners are wonderful to talk to as well. They actually cared about me as a customer... Good people!
Don't listen to any negativity about MyQ. Get a teenager to hook it up, and you'll be fine.
Great opener. Don't spend hundreds and thousands on a home, then cheap out on an opener. Spend the extra $150 and get this model. You will not be sorry!
:)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaptainFantastic
Date:June 20, 2012
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Best opener ever
Date:June 20, 2012
Review: 
Love this opener - it rocks. Had it installed a few weeks ago and love all the great features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MarkinFL
Location: Tampa, FL
Date:June 15, 2012
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Wonderful Idea..Poor Delivery!
Date:June 15, 2012
Pros: concept is great, quiet & nice features, reliable
Cons: doesn't work with homelink, add $50 to get it to work with homelink, no info on site if it's compatible with homelink, why isn't this backward compatible with homelink?, car's homelink is only 1 yr old!
Review: 
Beware, will likely not work with your Homelink
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RJ2012
Location: NE Ohio
Date:March 20, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Great opener but lack of homelink support
Date:March 20, 2012
Pros: quiet., great features and included accessories., battery backup
Cons: poor homelink support
Review: 
I replaced a 12 year old Genie opener that went bad. The 8550 is a great opener. Very quiet, a lot of features and love the battery backup. The issue is that the homelink does not work with my 2009 Acura. Homelink sent me a repeater but there are issues with the repeater. When using the repeater I still have issues with my 2009 Acura Homelink - It will work sometimes and sometimes not. You have to be close to the garage in order to open the door using the repeater and you also have to hold the button in for 3-7 seconds. Another thing I found out is that when using the repeater it did not open the door when my house power recently went out. The included three button opener worked like a charm with the power out. I'm stuck with using the included three button remote to get the responsiveness I expect. Overall - really great opener but Homelink support is poor.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fixmeasammich
Date:March 13, 2012
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Kind of Disappointed
Date:March 13, 2012
Pros: quiet
Cons: homelink does not work, extra accessories required to use myq., annual fee to use myq
Review: 
The opener works great using the included remote. I am also very impressed with how quiet the system operates. With that said, I am very disappointed that homelink does not work with my 2010 Nissan Frontier. After reading the reviews online it seems that many other people are having the same issue and with a wide variety of different vehicles. Also, if you want to use MyQ to operate your door via your smartphone then plan on buying additional accessories and paying an annual service charge.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeL
Location: Raleigh, NC
Date:March 6, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Great product!!
Date:March 6, 2012
Pros: unit is easy to program., quiet quiet quiet..., best opener i have owned in 7 homes over 30 years.
Review: 
Needed to replace a competitor's failing and noisy chain drive opener that was approaching 11 years old. Am amazed by the consistent and quiet performance delivered by the 8550. Not only does the 8550 handle its basic job perfectly, it also has the flexibility to close itself when someone leaves the garage door open. In addition, I can check the door status and even turn on lights in the house using my smartphone via the Liftmaster gateway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keith
Location: Great State of Texas
Date:March 4, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Great Investment
Date:March 4, 2012
Pros: quiet reliable wireless feature packed
Cons: not compatible with automobile homelink system
Review: 
I recently purchased the LiftMaster 8550 Elite series garage door opener and couldn't be happier with its performance, the smoothness while in motion, wireless features to use with iphone apps, not a bad design that illuminates garage really well, love the motion sensing for lights. Very user friendly system. I had an older model liftmaster belt drive system with backup battery installed aboved the system for over 7 years, now its compact and out of sight. Only problem I have found it will not program to my 2009 GMC Danali's Homelink system even after following the instructions and reveiwing the video. Overall great job Liftmaster I will continue to use your products.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohdoorman
Location: Arkansas
Date:February 7, 2012
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
best opener ever
Date:February 7, 2012
Pros: quiet, easy set up, battery back-up
Cons: none
Review: 
I have been installing garage doors and openers for over 25 years and this is by far the best product I have ever installed. It is very quiet and easy to set up. The new security plus 2.0 did not work with my 2010 Titan but Homelink sent me a free repeater to fix the problem. The Iphone app also works great. I put 2 on my house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOSS
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Date:January 7, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Finest opener made
Date:January 7, 2012
Pros: quiet, reliable, affordable, feature packed
Cons: internet gateway should come with the opener, only comes with one car remote
Review: 
I recently purchased the LiftMaster 8550 Elite series garage door opener and couldn't be happier with its performance. The 8550 replaced a screw drive craftsman that was the noisiest opener ever made. I love my belt drive; it is the quietest opener on the market today and reliable too. Looking forward to acquiring the internet gateway and testing the MyQ features. Excellent job LiftMaster. We will never own anything else!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blizzardclimate
Location: West Bend, WI
Date:December 14, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Liftmaster makes the best openers.
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: battery backup wireless very quiet and reliable
Cons: none what so ever
Review: 
We installed the battery back-up model at our home. It is so reliable, even in the frigid weather of Wisconsin. One of the best things is how quiet it is. Our dogs don't even bark when we open the garage door anymore. the battery backup is also a very cool feature not seen on any other opener that I know of. Thanks Liftmaster for an outstanding product :-)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamie
Location: Oregon
Date:November 14, 2011
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Best Purchase Ever
Date:November 14, 2011
Pros: battery back up, cycle counter, motion detecting light controlling wall console
Cons: none
Review: 
I am actually a garage door dealer and have serviced and installed many types of operators (even tried out most new models in my own garage). This model is by far the most intuitive to set up and quietest model I have ever installed!
I love that you can easily install the compact fluorescent bulbs, operate it from my phone or computer and even tell if the door is open or closed in my living room by using the 829LM. The remote light switch and remote light control are going to be installed tomorrow...control of the christmas lights from my phone, it doesn't get any better than that!
I am recommending these units to all my customers and friends!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Retired
Date:October 30, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
If only
Date:October 30, 2011
Pros: battery backup
Cons: not compatible with automobile homelink system
Review: 
If only this machine was compatible with the Homelink systems in our two vehicles ('05 & "09 models)!!! Would have appreciated it if the manufacturer, Chamberlain, had made it clear that it was not compatible. Maybe they will do the right thing and (1) make it clear in their product description and (2) do right by those who have already purchased the Model 8550 and supply, at no charge, the Homelink Repeater Kit which is supposed to remedy the problem. Otherwise, the 8550 seems to be a fine machine with many great features. The battery backup came in handy the day after my new opener was installed when a storm knocked out our power. Very nice feature.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Liftmaster 8550 Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sunny
Location: San Diego, CA
Date:October 17, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Nice Product
Date:October 17, 2011
Pros: very quiet
Cons: doesn't work with homelink system.
Review: 
We purchased the 8550 and had it installed by a dealer. The opener is a big change from what we had before and were very excited to learn about the new bells and whistles. The downside of it all is that we cannot get it programmed to the Homelink system in my car. I've tried following the instructions in my manual, and also tried instructions supplied by Liftmaster. Come to find that there are many blogs out there of people who are having the same issue. I have a 2008 vehicle, and I hear that the system is only compatible with 2009+. Sounds like Liftmaster does not have the adapter available at this moment which is a bummer, because we have three cars, and only two remotes. I hope the adapter comes out soon!
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
«prev123next»