LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LiftMaster Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive

Get in your garage every time, even when the power is out. This revolutionary DC belt drive offers quiet operation and comes fully equipped with MyQ® enabled technology and the Timer-to-Close feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0
35 out of 39(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Review 21 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOSS
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Date:January 7, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Finest opener made
Date:January 7, 2012
Pros: quiet, reliable, affordable, feature packed
Cons: internet gateway should come with the opener, only comes with one car remote
Review: 
I recently purchased the LiftMaster 8550 Elite series garage door opener and couldn't be happier with its performance. The 8550 replaced a screw drive craftsman that was the noisiest opener ever made. I love my belt drive; it is the quietest opener on the market today and reliable too. Looking forward to acquiring the internet gateway and testing the MyQ features. Excellent job LiftMaster. We will never own anything else!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blizzardclimate
Location: West Bend, WI
Date:December 14, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Liftmaster makes the best openers.
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: battery backup wireless very quiet and reliable
Cons: none what so ever
Review: 
We installed the battery back-up model at our home. It is so reliable, even in the frigid weather of Wisconsin. One of the best things is how quiet it is. Our dogs don't even bark when we open the garage door anymore. the battery backup is also a very cool feature not seen on any other opener that I know of. Thanks Liftmaster for an outstanding product :-)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jamie
Location: Oregon
Date:November 14, 2011
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Best Purchase Ever
Date:November 14, 2011
Pros: battery back up, cycle counter, motion detecting light controlling wall console
Cons: none
Review: 
I am actually a garage door dealer and have serviced and installed many types of operators (even tried out most new models in my own garage). This model is by far the most intuitive to set up and quietest model I have ever installed!
I love that you can easily install the compact fluorescent bulbs, operate it from my phone or computer and even tell if the door is open or closed in my living room by using the 829LM. The remote light switch and remote light control are going to be installed tomorrow...control of the christmas lights from my phone, it doesn't get any better than that!
I am recommending these units to all my customers and friends!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Erik
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Date:October 10, 2011
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Awesome opener
Date:October 10, 2011
Pros: quiet
Cons: none
Review: 
opener is super quiet and has fantastic features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyCamper
Location: NJ
Date:September 22, 2011
Age: 35-44
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Best Opener on the Market
Date:September 22, 2011
Pros: quiet, easy to install
Review: 
I recently installed the LiftMaster 8550 Openers in my garage. These garage door openers are really quiet !!! My friend just purchased a Genie, but my new LiftMasters are much quieter. This is a big deal in my house, because we have a bedroom over the garage. The installation was easy, it took less than an hour each to swap out my existing 20 year old units with the new ones. And I'm no mechanic. The battery backup is a great feature, because we have an attached garage (and the garage is how we go in & out of the house about 99% of the time) so since the power in my neighborhood goes out at least a couple times per year, the battery backup should really come in handy. So I'm happy with the product. This LiftMaster 8550 is clearly a high-quality product, and IMO is the best opener available.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brownerd
Location: Folsom, CA
Date:August 29, 2011
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Quiet Opener
Date:August 29, 2011
Pros: easy to install, packed with cool features
Cons: can't get it to work with my homelink (have not gi
Review: 
The 8550 was a snap to install - it took about 3 hours - most of which was spent making a new mounting bracket on the ceiling of the garage - the new opener didn't line up with our previous 23 year old opener (imagine that!). Everything else was a snap. I love the way you set the open and close position - that took all of about 2 minutes to set. This opener is nearly silent - the only thing I can heard are the rollers on the door (now I want new rollers so it will be quieter). The only issue I am having is getting the 895max remote to work with my HomeLink in my car (2003 Honda Accord). I have used my HomeLink with remotes that have the rolling code, so I know it is compatible, but it just won't get the signal (LED won't ever blink fast) when I try to program it. You won't go wrong with this opener - it is easy to install and is packed with cool features (programable light time, motion sensor on the wall remote to turn on lights, you can add a close delay so you can run/walk out if you don't have a keypad outside, garage tempurature readout on wall remote and the best is the fact you program the 895max remote ate the wall remote - no need to push a learn button up on the opener)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Captain
Location: Oklahoma
Date:February 5, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
LiftMaster 8550
Date:February 5, 2013
Pros: good product
Cons: new homelink requires optional repeater <2011 cars
Review: 
Good product, quiet operation Good Warranty, Lot of features. One big drawback is the Homelink software is so new most model cars do not have a compatible Homelink. You most likely will require an optional repeater system to enable your car Homelink and the LiftMaster model 8550 to communicate. You can obtain this device for around $35 by calling 1-800-355-3515. This is the HomeLink Customer hot line.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vant
Location: Maine
Date:September 24, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Quiet
Date:September 24, 2012
Review: 
This product is used in an apartment space..love how quiet it is...no more getting woken up when landlord decides to come play with his*toys*
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fheatl
Location: Snellville, Ga
Date:August 11, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Good purchase
Date:August 11, 2012
Pros: very quiet
Cons: installers not knowledgable about product, poor programming instructions for car remote
Review: 
Nice and quiet with neat features such as battery backup, wall mount control with digital display and web access (not activated yet). Contrary to feedback provided by other owners, device does work with built in car homelink. You must have repeater and need to contact Homelink for programming instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keith
Location: Great State of Texas
Date:March 4, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Great Investment
Date:March 4, 2012
Pros: quiet reliable wireless feature packed
Cons: not compatible with automobile homelink system
Review: 
I recently purchased the LiftMaster 8550 Elite series garage door opener and couldn't be happier with its performance, the smoothness while in motion, wireless features to use with iphone apps, not a bad design that illuminates garage really well, love the motion sensing for lights. Very user friendly system. I had an older model liftmaster belt drive system with backup battery installed aboved the system for over 7 years, now its compact and out of sight. Only problem I have found it will not program to my 2009 GMC Danali's Homelink system even after following the instructions and reveiwing the video. Overall great job Liftmaster I will continue to use your products.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Retired
Date:October 30, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
If only
Date:October 30, 2011
Pros: battery backup
Cons: not compatible with automobile homelink system
Review: 
If only this machine was compatible with the Homelink systems in our two vehicles ('05 & "09 models)!!! Would have appreciated it if the manufacturer, Chamberlain, had made it clear that it was not compatible. Maybe they will do the right thing and (1) make it clear in their product description and (2) do right by those who have already purchased the Model 8550 and supply, at no charge, the Homelink Repeater Kit which is supposed to remedy the problem. Otherwise, the 8550 seems to be a fine machine with many great features. The battery backup came in handy the day after my new opener was installed when a storm knocked out our power. Very nice feature.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Blake
Location: Mountain West
Date:August 22, 2013
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-2points
34out of 70found this review helpful.
Car Remotes don't work with 8550
Date:August 22, 2013
Pros: quiet
Cons: remote incompatability
Review: 
Bought this opener brand new today. I have no history on performance. However, I was immensely disappointed to learn the built-in remotes in my 2009 sedan and my 2010 pick-up don't work with this 2013 opener. I spent three hours trying to program the vehicles....no luck. I called my installer. He sent me to Customer Service who referred me to the car remote transmitter manufacturers Homelink and LearCar2U. I learned it is possible to make the car remotes work with repeater kits. Homelink said my car qualified for a free repeater as long as I paid $7 shipping. I gladly paid the shipping. Lear, on the other hand, wants $39.50 plus $10.50 s&h. I declined. I already spent enough on the new opener and installation.
I wished I had picked a less expensive model and found one compatible with my vehicles.
-2points
34out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bk000
Location: Dallas, TX
Date:August 21, 2012
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Doesn't work with any car's built-in homelink
Date:August 21, 2012
Pros: myq remote app works!, quiet
Cons: other liftmaster remotes not compatible with 8550, not compatible with homelink in 2009-2010 vehicles, problem with remote compatibility not disclosed
Review: 
This issue needs to spelled out in the marketing. I don't really want to buy and plug in a separate product (remote repeater) for something that should have been built into the unit. The 8550 is not compatible with the HomeLink built in remote my 2009 Cadillac CTSV, my 2010 BMW 335i, my 2005 Chevy Corvette, nor my 2012 Liftmaster Jackshaft model 3800 garage door opener remote. I really don't know what the deal is here that the same manufacturer issues two garage door opener products with two different remote control protocols. The opener works as advertised regarding the "MyQ" features. MyQ was extremely easy to set up but offset by frustrating homelink compatibility issues. Overall rating? Just Average - not worth the premium and not worth the upgrade for "MyQ".
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MarkinFL
Location: Tampa, FL
Date:June 15, 2012
Loyalty: 5-10 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Wonderful Idea..Poor Delivery!
Date:June 15, 2012
Pros: concept is great, quiet & nice features, reliable
Cons: doesn't work with homelink, add $50 to get it to work with homelink, no info on site if it's compatible with homelink, why isn't this backward compatible with homelink?, car's homelink is only 1 yr old!
Review: 
Beware, will likely not work with your Homelink
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RJ2012
Location: NE Ohio
Date:March 20, 2012
Age: 45-54
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Great opener but lack of homelink support
Date:March 20, 2012
Pros: quiet., great features and included accessories., battery backup
Cons: poor homelink support
Review: 
I replaced a 12 year old Genie opener that went bad. The 8550 is a great opener. Very quiet, a lot of features and love the battery backup. The issue is that the homelink does not work with my 2009 Acura. Homelink sent me a repeater but there are issues with the repeater. When using the repeater I still have issues with my 2009 Acura Homelink - It will work sometimes and sometimes not. You have to be close to the garage in order to open the door using the repeater and you also have to hold the button in for 3-7 seconds. Another thing I found out is that when using the repeater it did not open the door when my house power recently went out. The included three button opener worked like a charm with the power out. I'm stuck with using the included three button remote to get the responsiveness I expect. Overall - really great opener but Homelink support is poor.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sunny
Location: San Diego, CA
Date:October 17, 2011
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Nice Product
Date:October 17, 2011
Pros: very quiet
Cons: doesn't work with homelink system.
Review: 
We purchased the 8550 and had it installed by a dealer. The opener is a big change from what we had before and were very excited to learn about the new bells and whistles. The downside of it all is that we cannot get it programmed to the Homelink system in my car. I've tried following the instructions in my manual, and also tried instructions supplied by Liftmaster. Come to find that there are many blogs out there of people who are having the same issue. I have a 2008 vehicle, and I hear that the system is only compatible with 2009+. Sounds like Liftmaster does not have the adapter available at this moment which is a bummer, because we have three cars, and only two remotes. I hope the adapter comes out soon!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
robin
Location: Baltimore, MD
Date:February 12, 2013
Age: 45-54
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Does not work with any cars homelink
Date:February 12, 2013
Pros: the opener is quite
Cons: only one door opener, not compatible with any cars homelink
Review: 
The opener is quite but comes with only one door opener if you have two cars with most homes do you will have to purchase a second opener and if you think you are going to program your car, think again. This garage door opener is not compatible with any cars homelink system if the car is 2012 or older.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By LiftMasterFebruary 22, 2013
The new version of our remote control radio code Security+ 2.0 increases radio range and virtually eliminates interference under most conditions. Some older vehicles may not communicate directly with the radio, and will require a "Repeater Kit" to upgrade the in-vehicle remote system to be compatible with this improved radio system. Here is more information on programming your garage door opener to Homelink: http://bit.ly/Wy4msZ
Review 38 for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fixmeasammich
Date:March 13, 2012
Loyalty: 10+ years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Kind of Disappointed
Date:March 13, 2012
Pros: quiet
Cons: homelink does not work, extra accessories required to use myq., annual fee to use myq
Review: 
The opener works great using the included remote. I am also very impressed with how quiet the system operates. With that said, I am very disappointed that homelink does not work with my 2010 Nissan Frontier. After reading the reviews online it seems that many other people are having the same issue and with a wide variety of different vehicles. Also, if you want to use MyQ to operate your door via your smartphone then plan on buying additional accessories and paying an annual service charge.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Elite Series® DC Battery Backup Belt Drive
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
«prev12