LiftMaster Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

LiftMaster LiftMaster® Internet Gateway

Connect your garage door opener, gate operator and MyQ® Accessories to the Internet, enabling smartphone control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
9 out of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Review 1 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LarryM
Location: Cleveland, OH
Date:October 23, 2012
Age: 45-54
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Quick & Easy
Date:October 23, 2012
Pros: very easy set-up
Cons: right now - none
Review: 
Set up was very easy. Directions are clear and precise. I bought the unit along with several plug-in light controls to try out. Told my wife that we now do not have to set and program timers for our lights when we go out of town or remember to turn on some lights when we go out during the day but come home at night. I'll be getting some wall switch controllers for more control. I have the app on my iPhone, iPad and my wife's Droid.
I also figured out how to access the app using the 4 digit passcode - much easier!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmangler
Date:June 14, 2014
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Works Great
Date:June 14, 2014
Pros: easily and quickly see if doors are open, alerts, reliable, remotely open doors for guests
Cons: no ifttt support
Review: 
I'm using with two 8355 openers and iOS devices.
Have had no issues with connectivity; has good range (mine is in my basement). I've experienced no delays with alerts when doors open/close.
I'd take 1/2 a star off if I could for lacking IFTTT support. It would be nice if the opening of the door could trigger my Hue lights to come on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ConfusedHomeowner
Location: San Francisco, CA
Date:June 7, 2014
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Internet Gateway Message is confusing
Date:June 7, 2014
Cons: false alarm
Review: 
I was excited when I first got the new garage door/garage door opener and the internet gateway. I thought the alert was a great ideal that I don't need to install a home security system to monitor the house/garage any more. It is nice to be able to check the app to confirm that the garage door is closed. However, I was disappointed when I received the false alarm like the following when I was hundreds miles away from home, after the garage was closed 12 hours ago.
"You are receiving this email because you created an alert notification for your MyQ® device.
The message is: Garage Door Opener remained open 10:41 AM Jun 02
Sincerely,
MyQ® "
The MyQ smart phone app does not accurately record the correct time to help assess the situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
navwizard
Date:May 11, 2014
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Problems......
Date:May 11, 2014
Pros: great idea
Cons: ...if it worked....
Review: 
Just like the "worthless product" review below, I've got the same problem. I've tried resetting with the pinhole, setting up with apps, mobile site, full web site.
Always registers great, gets into pair mode, gateway actually connects to the opener (and light goes blue)......then it just says "waiting for device" until it times out.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canadiandoorguy
Location: Courtice ont
Date:April 15, 2014
Age: 35-44
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
I've installed many of these openers
Date:April 15, 2014
Pros: great quality, super quiet, easy door adjustment settings
Cons: no angle iron is supplied
Review: 
I read a post on here titled worthless product!
First thing, I do not work for chamberlain or lift-master!
I had a customer that experience the same problem! After a little foot work I found that an error was made during the first attempt to set up the gateway! After the error was corrected we started the set up from the beginning but found that we had no device found and we also timed out! I decided to clear the account and try again! I powered the gateway up and found the green and the blue light were on, only the green light should have been on! If u run into this problem u must reset the gateway unit! This is done by disconnecting the power from the gateway unit, with the power disconnected locate the small reset hole in the side of the gateway, with a paper clip or a tooth pick u must push and hold the button in! While holding the button in power up the unit and continue to hold the reset button in for ten secs until the blue light turns amber and flashes rapidly then release it and the unit has been completely reset! Now u can continue with the setup process and enjoy this fantastic product!
I hope this post helps and enjoy your purchase!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JCReviews
Location: TX
Date:April 9, 2014
Age: 25-34
Loyalty: 1-5 years
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Great Product
Date:April 9, 2014
Pros: notifications
Cons: no if this than that support
Review: 
This works great with my garage doors and one light switch. It's great to get notified when people make it home even when you're away. I really wish they would make it work with IFTTT.com or make it work with one of the other home automation hubs such as smartthings or revolv.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
casp
Date:September 16, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
-11points
14out of 39found this review helpful.
lame
Date:September 16, 2013
Review: 
app is lame. I can't login to register the gateway. The website is just as lame as there is no obvious way to register the gateway.
-11points
14out of 39found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By LiftmasterSeptember 27, 2013
We encourage you to visit https://www.myliftmaster.com/ to register your gateway.
Review 8 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NormT
Location: Herkimer, NY
Date:August 16, 2013
Age: Over 65
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Not recommended product
+22points
37out of 52found this review helpful.
Worthless Product
Date:August 16, 2013
Pros: worthless
Cons: junk
Review: 
I have now 2 worthless Internet Gateways. Neither one will add the opener. Tried numerous times to add the opener both through the 880LM control panel and the 8550 door opener itself. The light flash after the learn button is pressed and it tries and tries to access the account. Always responds "Device Not Added" - "Adding your device timed out." Full 3 bar internet signal on my ipad and also when trying with MacBook Pro. Why do I have 2? Second was a replacement after phone tech determined the first was a dud. This probably won't appear because my attitude will be deemed inappropriate but I speak the truth, sorry if that isn't appropriate.
+22points
37out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GFBUSTAM
Date:June 15, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
It works, but can be more feature rich
Date:June 15, 2013
Pros: alert scheduling window
Cons: no on/off scheduling capability
Review: 
Great little product, really easy to setup, and great App.
A drawback is that it lacks basic automation capabilities, like defining schedules for devices to turn on/off during the week (e.g. configuring lights to turn ON/OFF based on weekly schedule, while still having the ability to manually override). Something LiftMaster should be able to add to the App without changes to the gateway.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lyons
Location: Bay Area, Ca
Date:April 12, 2013
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
So far it's been excellent
Date:April 12, 2013
Review: 
All is well so far. One thing I had to change, I now am going through a switch, instead of going directly to the modem. It's working so far that way.
Question...I know it says to go directly through the modem, what differences will I see going through a switch?
Thanks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Damian
Date:January 17, 2013
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Good Product - but one issue
Date:January 17, 2013
Review: 
I really like this product - however.... Every time I go into the app from my iPhone I get a message saying "update from gateway unsuccessful". The weird part is, everything does work, open/close and turn on/off ok. If I go right back into the app I don’t get the message again. If I wait another hour or so and go back in I get the same error. Other than that I do like this. Great peace of mind! If they would fix that one thing I would give 5 stars!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamboy
Location: union city, Ca
Date:October 4, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
An answer to the previous reviewer
Date:October 4, 2012
Review: 
There are many problems sited by the previous reviewer. The one thing that you have to make sure is you hook-up the ethernet cable to the main router--not any extended switches. Then when using the light switch, be sure to reset it by pressing the learn button untill the light flashes. If you have a problem logging on your info repeatedly, put it on automatic log-in--anyway you have a password when you open your iphone--
Also, close the liftmaster App after using it so it would get the new info from the Liftmaster gateway each time.
If you reset the light switch, it would automatically delete it in the Liftmaster gateway.
I am impressed with the accuracy of this devices and its range---Wow---
I do not know if i covered everything, but Tech support of Liftmaster is outstanding--my favorite is Josh---
I know what I am talking about--i have 12 light switches installed--
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LiftMaster® Internet Gateway
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jmoore78
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Date:September 18, 2012
Age: 55-64
Loyalty: Less than 1 year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Recommended product
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Online Access is a pain
Date:September 18, 2012
Pros: quiet
Cons: internet app
Review: 
Garage door and features work fine. The Liftmaster Internet MyQ access/gateway work fine. The only problem I have had, so far, is the login mechanism is aggravating to have to login using full email address and password on a smartphone. My figures are not styluses. I would strongly recommend the use of access codes such as that used by Schlage's Nexia system. That approach would be quick, easy and perfectly appropriate for this system.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from LiftMaster:By LiftMasterMarCommSeptember 24, 2012
There is an easy way to change your settings and set up an access code. After opening the LiftMaster app on your device, click on the "Account" tab, then choose My Account > Security. You can specify if you want to require full log in or just the four-digit passcode. To set the passcode, go to My Account > Passcode and turn it on.